The Cutaway

The CutawayThe Cutaway by Christina Kovac
Format: arc_ebook
Published by Atria / 37 Ink on March 21st 2017
Pages: 320

Goodreads

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.
When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.
Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.
Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.

Thanks to Atria Books and NetGalley for the opportunity to review The Cutway.

If you are looking for a good mystery then I would recommend The Cutway, Virginia Knightly, a nightly news producer for a Georgetown television station, intrigued by a missing person report that comes across her news desk begins looking into the disappearance. With a new news editor trying to edge her out of her job and an anchorman, whom she has mixed emotions about, Knightly finds herself getting involved in more than just a young and beautiful missing lawyer.

“O, what a tangled web we weave when first we practise to deceive!”1 I am sure that we wish our real news media were as intent on getting to the truth of the matter, as this TV producer. Despite the lack of support from her staff, a police detective, and powerful political opponents Knightly doggedly keeps searching for answers.

The plot is good, I felt the author did a good job of moving the story along. At times the characters are a little flat but, I really didn’t mind so much cause I was enjoying the story.

  1. Marmion is an epic poem by Sir Walter Scott about the Battle of Flodden (1513). Published in 1808.